Oh Sees mastermind John Dwyer has announced a new supergroup, Bent Arcana. The new band is “very much on the ECM / ’70s hard fusion / prog-kraut tip,” according to a statement from Dwyer. Joining Dwyer in Bent Arcana are: modular synthesist Kyp Malone (of TV on the Radio), drummer, percussionist, and vocalist Ryan Sawyer, electric and double bassist Peter Kerlin, saxophonist Brad Caulkins, keyboardist Tom Dolas, guitarist Marcos Rodriguez, violinist Laena “Geronimo” Myers-Ionita, tenor saxophonist Joce Soubiran, and percussionist Andres Renteria.

Bent Arcana are releasing their self-titled debut LP on August 21 (via Castle Face). Below, listen to the band’s new song “The Gate.”

“This is the first interstellar transmission from five days of electrified & improvised sessions recorded at Stu-Stu-Studio, edited down to 40 minutes for your earballs,” Dwyer said in his statement. “Bent Arcana is the inceptive chapter in what I hope to be several releases showcasing these types of off-the-cuff musical compositions. So you can try your fry on and turn off. It is a many pronged weapon, swung by the spontaneous sentinel.”

Revisit “Ty Segall and John Dwyer on Why So Many Musicians Are Leaving San Francisco for L.A.” on the Pitch.

Bent Arcana:

01 The Gate
02 Outré Sorcellerie
03 Misanthrophe Gets Lunch
04 Mimi
05 Oblivion Sigil
06 Sprites

You May Also Like

9 Songs You Should Listen to Now: This Week’s Pitchfork Selects Playlist

News Baby Keem and Kendrick Lamar, Kacey Musgraves, Kacy Hill, and More:…

Taylor Swift Fan Files to Dismiss Class Action Lawsuit Against Live Nation Entertainment and Ticketmaster

Michelle Sterioff, the lead plaintiff in a federal class action lawsuit against…

J. Cole Talked to Drake About Playing on His Canadian Basketball Team

J. Cole‘s latest pro-basketball venture tips off Thursday and it might not…

MTV 2023 VMAs Behind The Scenes, All About Taylor Swift and *NSYNC

The 2023 VMAs were all about Taylor Swift, her famous Swifties and,…